BEHIND THE SCENES

TRUE CRAFTSMANSHIP

Each piece of jewellery from IsabelleFa is entirely handcrafted in a series of laborious steps.

X

ALLOYING

Not all gold is the same. The right ingredients lay the cornerstone for perfect results. Centuries-old knowledge is the secret formula for our house’s own alloys, e.g. “RougeRoyal,” an elegant and warmly radiant red gold. Our manufactory uses only recycled gold from certified sources.

X

ROLLING

The resulting gold bars are “tamed” with the help of rollers, presses and draw benches, some of which are 100 years old. Many people find it difficult to imagine the enormous forces with which our pieces are wrought. This craftsmanship extremely compresses the precious metals. Time-honored techniques achieve perfect surface textures and an extraordinarily deep gleam.

X

DRAWING

After the sheets of gold and platinum have been rolled and compressed, they are cut to size and drawn into tubular shape. This is a critical step because the seam must be extremely narrow and as nearly invisible as possible. Thanks to our huge collection of old drawing irons and drawplates, we can rely on traditional goldsmith’s methods to create modern pieces of jewelry.

X

PALPABLE QUALITY

Thin materials are typically used in industrially made jewelry nowadays, but we can craft our pieces from considerably thicker materials because time-honored drawing and rolling techniques form the basis for IsabelleFa’s jewelry pieces. This makes our jewelry less susceptible to dents and gives it a pleasantly weighty feel.

X

ART OF CRAFTSMANSHIP

Creating a piece of jewelry at IsabelleFa requires both enormous force and tremendous sensitivity. Sheer muscle power first bends the necklaces and bracelets into the approximately correct shapes. Afterwards, powerful hammer blows fine-tune the piece, custom-tailoring it to make each customer’s wish come true.

X

ANNEALING

Many people can scarcely imagine the enormous forces and scorching temperatures to which we subject our jewelry its fabrication. For example, a choker is annealed for a lengthy interval at a temperature as high as 1,000° Celsius – to “relax” the precious metal.

X

WINDING

It takes both dexterity and muscle power to transform a tube of precious metal into the links of a chain. The metal, which has already been drawn to form a tube or joint, is wound around a spindle, which determines the subsequent shape of the chain’s links.

X

SAWING AND HOOKING

The wound component is now cut open with a paper-thin saw blade. This may look simple at first glance, but it is actually a highly complex process, especially when fabricating a long and slender chain with several hundred individual links.

X

SOLDERING

Afterwards, each link is manually inserted into its neighbor, its cut ends are joined and the link is soldered closed. Our Maîtres Chaînistes (i.e. “master chainmakers”) rely on a special technique to assure that each link is perfectly straight and never twists out of alignment.

X

STRAIGHTENING

Every woman who wears jewelry knows that a chain is only as strong as its weakest link. That’s why each IsabelleFa chain undergoes a stress test. Afterwards, the chain is optimally supple and perfectly conforms to the contours of its wearer’s body.

X

ARMORING

Especially during armoring, when the chain is twisted and aligned, the links encounter the sheer muscle power of one or sometimes two goldsmiths. Witnessing this artisanal work is an unforgettable experience.

X

POLISHING

Polishing demands patience and conscientiousness, which our specialists augment with inventiveness. To achieve perfect results, we have developed our own methods for this meticulous process. Each individual link is manually abraded inside and out – because the lifespan of a chain depends on the smoothness of its links and solder points. Ultimately, each chain must delight its wearer with its quality, beauty, smooth surfaces and, last but not least, its warm and rich sound.

X

CLASPS

Our jewelry’s functional components are likewise individually handmade. Each clasp is specially developed and crafted to suit its piece of jewelry. Even the smallest details clearly reveal our high standards, uncompromising meticulousness and superlative craftsmanship. Just listen closely to the satisfying sound you hear when you close an IsabelleFa necklace or bracelet.

X

DIAMOND PAVÉ

Diamonds set into clasps or individual chain links ennoble every piece of jewelry. This finely detailed work demands special know-how from our gemstone setters – because the diamonds must not only harmonize visually, but must also be perfectly set into the jewelry. That’s why the diamonds for pavés are set under a microscope. This technique enables our specialists to achieve markedly higher quality: no bead must be left protruded.

X

A TRADEMARK

An individually set diamond is a trademark of IsabelleFa. The gem is integrated into the clasp of a chain or concealed on the inner surface of a ring.

X

THE FLACON

Before a piece of jewelry ultimately leaves our manufactory, we stamp it with our seal of quality: IsabelleFa’s flacon-shaped hallmark. Derived from a perfume flacon that Isabelle Mössner personally designed and handcrafted, this signet consummates every piece and reaffirms its uniqueness. The hallmark is an emblem of high quality, exclusiveness and appreciation of the goldsmith’s art. The signet simultaneously represents the promise that this piece of jewelry is unique and was created entirely by hand from the most precious materials.

X

POLISHING BY HAND

Countless polishing brushes, fine leather straps and abrasive pastes gradually give a high-gloss sheen to the originally matte surface. This phase in the work again reveals the numerous advantages of the traditional drawing and rolling techniques with which we extremely compress the gold and platinum. This is essential for achieving the characteristic and fascinatingly deep gleam. Each millimeter of every bracelet or necklace, as well as each individual link in our chains, is drawn and finely polished both inside and out. This time-consuming manual work is well worthwhile – because mechanical polishing could never create a comparably high-gloss gleam.

X

Einblick in die Manufaktur

HANDARBEIT

Jedes Schmuckstück von IsabelleFa ist ein Unikat, das in unserer Manufaktur in exklusiver Handarbeit angefertigt wird. Dies erfolgt in vielen einzelnen Arbeitsschritten, die Zeit, Kraft, Erfahrung und Feingefühl in Anspruch nehmen.

X

LEGIEREN

Den Grundstein für ein perfektes Ergebnis legen die richtigen „Zutaten“ – denn Gold ist längst nicht gleich Gold. Bei uns wird das Rohmaterial komplett in den eigenen Werkstätten geschmolzen und mit anderen Edelmetallen verbunden. Jahrhundertealtes Wissen und hauseigene Goldlegierungen sind das Geheimrezept für die hervorragenden Materialeigenschaften der Schmuckstücke. Darüberhinaus haben sich unsere eigenen Goldfarben zum charakterstarken Markenzeichen entwickelt. Dazu zählt beispielsweise „RougeRoyal“, ein elegantes und warm strahlendes Rotgold. In unserer Manufaktur verwenden wir ausschließlich recyceltes Gold aus zertifizierter Quelle.

X

WALZEN

Zum Teil 100 Jahre alte Walzen, Pressen und Zugbänke bändigen nun die entstandenen Goldbarren. Für viele ist es kaum vorstellbar mit welch gewaltiger Kraft wir unsere Stücke schmieden. Durch dieses Handwerk wird das Gold extrem verdichtet — alte Techniken, mit denen eine perfekte Oberflächenbeschaffenheit und ein außergewöhnlicher Tiefenglanz erreicht wird.

X

ZIEHEN

Sind die Gold- und Platinbleche gewalzt und verdichtet, werden sie zugeschnitten und in Rohrform gezogen. Ein kritischer Schritt, denn hier kommt es darauf an, dass die Fuge möglichst unsichtbar, also haarfein ist. Dank einer riesigen Sammlung alter Zieheisen und Ziehsteine können wir auch hier auf traditionelle Goldschmiedekunst zurückgreifen, um moderne Schmuckstücke zu kreieren.

X

QUALITÄT DIE MAN FÜHLT

Während durch industrielle Verfahren heute nur noch dünne Materialstärken üblich sind, wird die Basis für ein Schmuckstück bei IsabelleFa durch Zug- und Walztechniken erarbeitet. So werden wesentlich solidere Materialstärken erreicht, was das Schmuckstück viel weniger anfällig für Tragespuren macht und ihm ein angenehmes Gewicht verleiht.

X

HAND.WERK.KUNST

Ein Schmuckstück von IsabelleFa verlangt enorme Kraft und viel Fingerspitzengefühl. Hals- und Armreife werden zunächst durch reine Muskelkraft in die grobe Form gebogen. Anschließend beginnt die Feinjustierung: Mit kräftigen und gezielten Hammerschlägen bekommt jeder Reif die individuelle Passform seiner Trägerin — maßgeschmiedet nach Kundenwunsch.

X

GLÜHEN

Für viele Menschen ist es kaum vorstellbar, welchen enormen Kräften und Temperaturen wir unsere Schmuckstücke während ihrer Entstehung aussetzen. Ein Halsreif zum Beispiel wird bei bis zu 1000 Grad Celsius über eine lange Zeit durchgeglüht — um ihn zu entspannen.

X

WICKELN

Der Schritt vom Edelmetallrohr zur Öse erfordert ebenso viel Geschick wie Muskelkraft. Das zuvor in Form gezogene Rohr oder Scharnier wird über eine Spindel gewickelt, die die spätere Form der Kettenglieder bestimmt.

X

SÄGEN UND EINHÄNGEN

Mit einer haarfeinen Säge wird nun die Wicklung geöffnet. Was beim ersten Blick einfach aussieht, entpuppt sich schnell als ein aufwendiger Arbeitsschritt, beispielsweise wenn eine lange, dünne Kette mit mehreren hundert Ösen gefertigt wird.

X

LÖTEN

Anschließend wird manuell Öse für Öse ineinander gehängt, zusammengefügt und verlötet. Eine besondere Technik des erfahrenen Maîtres Chaînistes (frz. Kettenmeister) sorgt dafür, dass die Kette in sich perfekt gerade verläuft und sich nicht verdreht.

X

RICHTEN

Das weiß jede Schmuckträgerin: Jede Kette ist nur so stark wie ihr schwächstes Glied – deshalb wird jede einzelne Kette von IsabelleFa einem „Stresstest“ unterzogen. Nach diesem liegt die Kette geschmeidig am Körper an.

X

PANZERN

Insbesondere beim Panzern, dem Verdrehen und Richten der Ketten, trifft die pure Muskelkraft von teilweise zwei Goldschmieden gleichzeitig auf die Glieder einer Kette. Dieser handwerklichen Arbeit zuzuschauen, ist ein echtes Erlebnis.

X

VERSÄUBERN

Beim Versäubern sind Geduld und Sorgfalt gefragt. Bei unseren Spezialisten kommt auch noch Erfindergeist hinzu. Denn um ein perfektes Ergebnis zu erzielen, haben wir für diesen Arbeitsschritt unsere eigenen Hilfsmittel entwickelt. In aufwendiger Handarbeit wird jede einzelne Öse von innen und außen geschmirgelt. Je glatter das Kettenglied und die Lotstellen sind, desto länger ist die Lebensdauer der Kette. Schließlich soll am Ende jede Kette durch ihre Qualität und Schönheit, eine weiche Haptik und nicht zuletzt durch einen warmen, vollen Klang bestechen.

X

VERSCHLUSS

Selbst die funktionalen Elemente unserer Schmuckstücke werden einzeln und von Hand hergestellt. So werden auch die Schließen passend zu jedem Schmuckstück entwickelt und gefertigt. Hier sind unser hoher Anspruch an jedes noch so kleine Detail sowie unsere Kompromisslosigkeit und Perfektion bei der Fertigung sehr gut erkennbar. Hören Sie ruhig einmal ganz bewusst hin mit welchem Ton ein Hals- oder Armreif von IsabelleFa schließt.

X

DIAMANT PAVÉ

Die in den Verschlüssen oder einzelnen Kettengliedern gefassten Diamanten veredeln ein jedes Schmuckstück. Bei dieser Feinarbeit wird von den Fassern besonderes Know-how verlangt. Denn die Brillanten müssen nicht nur optisch harmonieren, sie müssen auch perfekt in den Schmuck eingearbeitet werden. Diamant Pavé werden deshalb unter dem Mikroskop gefasst. Mit dieser Technik erzielen unsere Spezialisten deutliche Qualitätsverbesserungen: Kein Korn darf hervorstehen.

X

EIN MARKENZEICHEN

Der einzeln gefasste Brillant ist ein Markenzeichen von IsabelleFa. Man findet ihn im Verschluss einer Kette oder auch versteckt in der Innenseite eines Rings.

X

DER FLAKON

Bevor das Schmuckstück die Manufaktur verlässt, erhält es sein Gütesiegel: die IsabelleFa Punze in Form eines Flakons. Dieses unverkennbare Merkmal, das auf einen von Isabelle Mössner selbst entworfenen und gefertigten Parfümflakon zurückgeht, vollendet ein Meisterwerk und unterstreicht dessen Einzigartigkeit. Die Punze ist ein Zeichen der hohen Qualität, der Exklusivität und Wertschätzung der Goldschmiedekunst. Gleichzeitig steht das Signet für das Versprechen, dass es das Schmuckstück so kein zweites Mal gibt und es in reiner Handarbeit und aus den edelsten Materialien geschaffen wurde.

X

POLITUR VON HAND

Mit unzähligen Polierbürsten, feinen Lederriemchen und Pasten wird die anfangs matte Oberfläche auf feinsten Hochglanz poliert. An dieser Stelle der Fertigung werden nochmal alle Vorzüge der traditionellen Zug- und Walztechniken deutlich, durch die Gold und Platin extrem verdichtet werden. Nur dadurch ist der typische und absolut faszinierende Glanz möglich. Jeder Millimeter eines Arm- oder Halsreifs und jede einzelne Kettenöse wird nicht nur außen, sondern auch innen ausgezogen und feinpoliert. Zeitaufwendige Arbeitsschritte von Hand die sich lohnen: Mit maschineller Politur lässt sich ein solcher Hochglanz niemals erreichen.

X